Hurricane Ridge: blue skies, eye-candy vistas and vitamin D…right before the storm

School’s out so I dragged Nora and Paco to Hurricane Ridge yesterday for a quick outing. There wasn’t really enough snow to sled but, we loved just soaking up the sun and the views without the summer crowds. We hiked down Obstruction Point Road, which is now closed to cars, making it great to hike with Nora and Paco. Dogs are not allowed in the park on the trails but, they are allowed on leash on the roads/sidewalks. Hiking on the Obstruction Point Rd. was perfect for our little jaunt. And, wow, what a difference a day makes! This morning we woke to a deluge of rain and now it’s stormy and windy. It’s been a perfect day for a trip to our local pottery painting store, some Thanksgiving art projects, and updating my blog. πŸ™‚ Today is Veteran’s Day and having the freedom to roam our national parks in peace is just one tiny reminder about what our soldiers fight for. It is also Armistice Day: “a day to be dedicated to the cause of world peace.’ The outdoors is my church and my sanctuary. Enjoying nature in peace, without fear of attack or land mines or war, is something I take for granted and need to appreciate more often. I am not a fan of war but, I still honor those soldiers that fight for our rights. I never get tired of visiting Hurricane Ridge, just 17 miles up the road from our house. I am so happy to share MY Olympic Mountains with my family and friends…and with you. πŸ™‚ To any soldiers or families of soldiers reading this, I salute and thank you.

2 comments on “Hurricane Ridge: blue skies, eye-candy vistas and vitamin D…right before the storm

  1. I’m really inspired with your writing skills and also with the layout in your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it your self? Either way stay up the excellent high quality writing, it is rare to look a nice blog like this one today..

    Like

The good, the bad, the ugly...I can take it. Talk at me! :)