Rebar Chocolate Chip Cookies with apricots and walnuts

Chocolate Chip Cookies with Apricots and Walnuts
(from the Rebar Modern Food Cookbook)

rebar-cc-cookies

These will become your FAVORITE chocolate chip cookies!

INGREDIENTS

* For gluten-free cookies substitute Gluten-free Baking Flour for the unbleached flour

1/2 cup Unsalted Butter, softened
1.5 cups or less light brown sugar
2 Eggs
2 tsp Vanilla
1/4 cup Dried Apricots, chopped
1.5 cups Unbleached Flour *
1.5 tsp Baking Powder
1/2 tsp Salt
1 cup Walnuts, roasted and chopped
1.5 cups Chocolate Chips

DIRECTIONS
Preheat oven to 350′ and line a cookie sheet with parchment paper and set aside.
In a bowl, combine apricots, flour, baking powder and salt.
In another bowl, cream butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Add one egg at a time and blend well before adding the next. Add vanilla and set aside.
Add wet to dry and then fold in the walnuts and chocolate chips.
Drop on cookie sheet in heaping tablespoonful sized blobs. Leave room between for spreading.
Bake 9 minutes, rotating sheet halfway through baking. Cool on wire rack.

NOTES:  The first time I made this recipe I realized I actually didn’t have chocolate chips OR dried apricots in my pantry.  So, I substituted craisins for the apricots and chopped up a 1 1/2 bars of dark chocolate with sea salt.  I LOVE the subtle hit of salt from this chocolate bar.  And, I used that amount of bars because that’s what I happened to have in my house.  It felt like the right amount, although, you can’t have too much chocolate, right?  😉

Also, I used a melon baller to measure out the cookies and I baked them for 10 minutes, so rotating the pan at 5 minutes.  With the smaller cookies, 9 minutes seemed like the right time.

I’ve also kept this dough on hand in the fridge to make them fresh for guests.  Just right out of the oven, after slightly cooling on a wire rack, is just divine.  ENJOY!!!

The good, the bad, the ugly...I can take it. Talk at me! :)

