365 Project – 311: Thinking of Governor’s Island, New York and Point Pleasant, New Jersey – Jersey Shore (November 6, 2012)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


These photos were taken just a few months ago. Nora and my husband were on the road around Governor’s Island, which was completely submerged under water by Hurricane Sandy. The photo of Aaron on the roller coaster and Nora pushing Evan in the stroller were taken at Point Pleasant, New Jersey, at the Jersey shore. That ride and that boardwalk were all washed away by Sandy. 😦

When Hurricane Sandy hit my first thoughts were of my family and friends back east, who fortunately fared well. They experienced power outages but, since they were inland their homes were spared from flooding. I also thought of Governor’s Island, which we just visited this past August, remembering the hurricane that hit in 1976 which I thought was going to sink our island. Fortunately, our little fortress of an island survived being submerged under water but, she incurred many fallen trees from the strong winds. Oh, but, they were such beautiful, old chestnut trees. 😦 But, Point Pleasant, on the Jersey Shore, did NOT fare so well. The boardwalk got washed away, along with those rides, shops and eateries. (Here’s a link to a post showing us walking the boardwalk, the kids on the rides, and having our first taste of a frozen custard from Kohr’s.)

I was grateful for our first Jersey Shore experience in August of this year but, now that it’s gone, I appreciate it even more. I’m so sorry for all those affected by this devastation but, am confident in the resiliency of New York, New Jersey and the many other cities that have been hit by Hurricane Sandy. And, we can help by donating to the Red Cross or to food banks in those areas.

ONE DOLLAR CAN MAKE A DIFFERENCE
I learned yesterday that just $1 can provide five meals. Here’s a link to the American Red Cross. Give what you can to help our friends and family in need.

See more of my 365 Project: Untouched photos from my Nikon D5000 with 50mm lens

2 comments on “365 Project – 311: Thinking of Governor’s Island, New York and Point Pleasant, New Jersey – Jersey Shore (November 6, 2012)

  1. tferre6 says:

    Good times, but makes me sad to think of all the devastation. Love how NYers and NJers seem to always persevere thru the worst of events. I admire them all greatly.

    Like

The good, the bad, the ugly...I can take it. Talk at me! :)

