365 Project – 253: Sepia Saturday – “Summer in September” (September 8, 2012)

Shutter Speed: 1/1250, Aperture: F/5.6, ISO: 400 – applied Lightroom Preset “B & W Creative – Sepia”

Shutter Speed: 1/1250, Aperture: F/5.6, ISO: 400 – Straight out of the camera (SOOC)


Straight out of the camera this shot was decent but, after applying a simple Lightroom Preset (B & W Creative – Sepia) I prefer the desaturated version because your eyes are drawn to the girls’ faces. In the color version I feel like the colors are a little distracting. Do you agree?

Yesterday got up to 81 degrees in Port Angeles and here are the girls having a sweet TGIF playdate after school. It’s “so pacific northwest” of our weather to get these gorgeous summer days AFTER school starts. If I had my way, our school year would go from October through June. Keep the kids in school through the “June gloom” and enjoy our September summer days at our favorite spots, without the tourist crowds, while EVERYONE ELSE goes back to school. Yeah, I’ll just wave my magic wand and make that happen. HA! Well, here’s to making it through a fabulous first week of school and enjoying summer in September! Have a great weekend everyone! 🙂

See more of my 365 Project: Untouched photos from my Nikon D5000 with 50mm lens

4 comments on “365 Project – 253: Sepia Saturday – “Summer in September” (September 8, 2012)

  1. Jennie says:

    I love this photo! esp the b&w version 🙂

    Like

  2. Steve says:

    I agree that the colors just kinda run together. I’m surprised how the girls seem to be “brought forward” in the sepia version. To my eye it almost seems to change the depth and makes the girls become more “the subject”. Of course the tighter crop helps a lot too. Nice photo!

    Like

    • meelswa says:

      The sepia lightroom preset does a lot more than just desaturate the colors, like upping the brightness, contrast, etc. etc. I loved what it did to the original photo. 🙂 Nice hearing from you Steve!

      Like

The good, the bad, the ugly...I can take it. Talk at me! :)

