365 Project – 196: My roses…and Nikon D5000’s VIVID vs. STANDARD picture control setting (July 14, 2012)

I often use the VIVID setting on my D5000 but, this morning when shooting my roses the VIVID shots just looked TOO saturated and vibrant, which, to me, lost some of the detail of these roses. So, I switched to the STANDARD (SD) setting and the photo better matched the roses’ color, soft shape and texture. Using EXACTLY the same camera settings, except for changing the picture control setting, you can compare the left photo, taken with the VIVID setting, with the right photo taken with the STANDARD (SD) setting. I personally prefer the photo on the right taken with the SD setting. I LOVE color in photos, and many times prefer shooting with the VIVID setting to get a POP in my photos but, in this case, “less is more”, and I prefer the less saturated, less vibrant look of these beautiful roses. What do you think??

Shutter Speed: 1/50, Aperture: F/13.0, ISO: 400, VIVID setting

Shutter Speed: 1/50, Aperture: F/13.0, ISO: 400, STANDARD setting

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

To change your camera’s PICTURE CONTROL, click on your info button and use your toggle buttons right or left until you get to the PICTURE CONTROL setting, press OK then toggle up and down to choose your setting. Experiment with it. You may find out that less is more when switching from VIVID to another less vibrant setting. Happy shooting!

See more of my 365 Project: Untouched photos from my Nikon D5000 with 50mm lens

9 comments on “365 Project – 196: My roses…and Nikon D5000’s VIVID vs. STANDARD picture control setting (July 14, 2012)

  1. Steve says:

    I agree with you! Vivid is TOO vivid in this case.
    If you have not tried the RAW mode and downloaded the Free Nikon software for working with RAW images you are missing a great feature of your D5000. I know you don’t want to “fiddle” with your images, but sometimes you MUST! RAW really brings out the best in the D5000. Sometimes the clarity difference in images taken RAW can be quite astonishing.

    Like

    • meelswa says:

      That’s a great tip Steve. THANKS! And, I’m looking forward to next year’s 365 Project where I can post any photo, processed or not, and with ANY of my lenses. πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. standard too πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. I always shoot in raw TOO….

    Like

  4. what camera did you use for the setting shot?

    Like

The good, the bad, the ugly...I can take it. Talk at me! :)

