365 Project – 144: After the rain… (May 22, 2012)

Shutter Speed: 1/50, Aperture: F/7.1, ISO: 400 (Monochrome – MC in camera)

After a lovely dry spell here, the sky dumped on us and instead of grumbling about it I thought I’d embrace the weather and capture the beauty of the rain. The design left on this glass table made me think “black and white” so I took the shot with my D5000 set on the Monochrome (MC) setting. It has the look of a puzzle with each wet piece revealing the hatched design of the wicker table. I couldn’t resist a little post-processing so I posted a second photo with a simple Lightroom 3 Preset (B&W Creative – Look 3). Which one is better? Original, straight out of the camera (SOTC) or post-processed?

post-processed in Lightroom using preset B&W Creative – Look 3

See more of my 365 Project: Untouched photos from my Nikon D5000 with 50mm lens

3 comments on “365 Project – 144: After the rain… (May 22, 2012)

  1. Steve says:

    I think the dark, contrasty one is more interesting. More dramatic ..

    Like

  2. I like the second one also, very interesting.

    Like

  3. meelswa says:

    I personally like the dark, contrasty one better too. It just brings out more details and texture, which you need for a good black and white, right? Thanks for your comments!

    Like

The good, the bad, the ugly...I can take it. Talk at me! :)

