365 Project – 138: Screaming rhododendrons ;) (May 16, 2012)

Shutter Speed: 1/320, Aperture: F/5.0, ISO: 400

Some of you may have noticed that I tend towards anthropomorphism, where I  give human characteristics to plants, animals, or other non-human objects.  It happens often while I’m taking photos.  I may see a face in a tree or a walrus in some driftwood then I describe that tree as angry, or the driftwood as stately.  This has been a self-revelation as a result of my 365 Project, that my mind seems to see beyond the obvious object.  Take these rhododendrons.  They don’t just look like pretty flowers to me.  I’ve always thought of rhodies as arrogant and proud because their display just screams for attention when they bloom.  Since there are so many rhodies blooming simultaneously across the peninsula, the display is loud and vibrant.  When I got close-up I became fascinated with their “tongues” and “throats” which, to me, looks like they’re screaming “I’m HERE, I’m GORGEOUS, LOOK AT ME!!”   Maybe because they also resemble trumpets I think these blooming rhodies are demanding royal fanfare.  Well, that’s just how my quirky mind works!  I’ve received MANY a quizzical look at my drawing comparisons to something other than the obvious.  So,if you don’t see anything proud or screaming in these photos, just enjoy the pretty pink flowers. 🙂

I posted two photos, the top one, which I prefer, featuring that screaming, trumpeting rhodie “tongue”, and the second photo giving a different perspective of multiple rhodies on a bush.  And, I have to say, the rhododendron display right now really is spectacular so, in honor of the rhododendron, our Washington state flower, I curtsy to you. 😉

Shutter Speed: 1/60, Aperture: F/10, ISO: 400

See more of my 365 Project: Untouched photos from my Nikon D5000 with 50mm lens

The good, the bad, the ugly...I can take it. Talk at me! :)

