365 Project – 134: Mothers…we’re more than just hiney-wipers ;) (May 12, 2012)

Shutter Speed: 1/50, Aperture: F/4.5, ISO: 400

In anticipation of taking a day off on Mother’s Day I am posting a second photo today of this sweet bouquet from one of my mama BFFs. I singled out one of the unopened red tulips to signify moms and to draw attention to their uniqueness and beauty. The longer I spent with this picture, the unopened tulip also made me think of patience, waiting to blossom, and, how with some time and nurturing, I WILL gain some freedom to experience life more abundantly. As a stay-at-home mom I struggle to hold onto who I am in the midst of motherhood. I willingly chose to give up my career and a free-spirit lifestyle of adventure, without any regrets, BUT, even though I would NEVER give up motherhood, I still miss the old me. Yes, being a mom is amazing but, I often think, “Who am I, outside of being a mom?” or “Where did the REAL me go?” Soooo…for this Mother’s Day I asked my husband and daughter to let me pick an activity that lets me get back to what I love. They offered to take me on a picnic, which is so sweet, but, I really want to wake up my adventurous spirit that misses the days of kayaking and backpacking and all those activities that make me feel alive. And, I still want to share that with my husband and daughter, which means we’ll be taking a slower pace and shorter distance, but, it will be oh, so sweet. 🙂 So, to all mothers, here’s to celebrating your wonderfulness, giving thanks for many thankless duties, and encouraging all of us to try to hold onto our passionate spirit, in the midst of often all-consuming motherhood. Happy Mother’s Day!

See more of my 365 Project: Untouched photos from my Nikon D5000 with 50mm lens

The good, the bad, the ugly...I can take it. Talk at me! :)

