365 Project – 117: Straight on or tipsy? (April 26, 2012)

Shutter Speed: 1/80, Aperture: F/1.8, ISO: 400

Shutter Speed: 1/80, Aperture: F/1.8, ISO: 400

One of the first lessons I learned about composition was to position your subject off-center, to the side, leave some negative space.  As I set up this Camraderie Cellars wine bottle, which I wanted to photograph because I liked the texture of the “new packaging” (it turns out it’s just a protective sleeve…HA!),  I thought “is it really so bad to photograph your subject dead center?” So, I took two pics. I suppose the one taken at an angle is a bit more interesting?   I kind’ve felt like I’d be a rebel and take a photo straight on, and totally symmetrical.  Yes, that’s my idea of getting wild and crazy…sad but true.  LOL Well, someday I’ll go back to focusing on that “new packaging” for another post. 😉  (And, this wine…it was oh sooooo smooth!)
See more of my 365 Project: Untouched photos from my Nikon D5000 with 50mm lens

5 comments on “365 Project – 117: Straight on or tipsy? (April 26, 2012)

  1. Grayce Klass says:

    It is the two glasses behind the bottle that seem off to me.

    Like

    • meelswa says:

      yeah, they are kind’ve distracting huh? not sure if i like the backlighting from the window behind it too. i ended up focusing on the composition of straight on vs. at an angle and ditched all the other rules of a good photo. you have a good eye grayce! 🙂

      Like

    • meelswa says:

      This is a good post as an example for “what NOT to do when taking a photo!” 🙂

      Like

  2. STEVE says:

    In this case I happen to like both images! I’ve never been one to tilt photos just for the sake of tilting, but for some reason I do like the tilted one. Maybe it’s because wine bottles are “meant” to be tilted??? Or did you shoot the tilted one AFTER the taste test? 🙂

    Both could have a useful illustrative purpose.

    Like

    • meelswa says:

      Nope, these were taken at 8:30am…no wine tasting this morning! LOL I think I like the tilted version better too because those fat wine glasses are cropped a bit and don’t pull focus away from the wine bottle as much. yeah, i guess whoever made up that “centered photos are boring” rule, knew what they were talking about! LOL

      Like

The good, the bad, the ugly...I can take it. Talk at me! :)

