365 Project – 79 : Underexposed feathers – deviating from your camera’s light meter (March 19, 2012)

Shutter Speed: 1/50, Aperture: F/2.8, ISO: 400

It was suggested by blog follower Steve that I might get more color from my straight-out-of-the-camera D5000 shots by underexposing slightly.  I shot this eye-level with the feathers hanging from my daughter’s dreamcatcher, as opposed to “underneath the dreamcatcher”; same exact lighting in her bedroom and time of day as in the photo I posted yesterday.  Just a slightly different ISO, aperture and a very different angle.  And, why do I say it’s underexposed?  Because my D5000’s light meter said it was.  Since I was trying to pull more color from these feathers, I think it was exposed perfectly.  What do you think?

See more of my 365 Project: Untouched photos from my Nikon D5000 with 50mm lens

4 comments on “365 Project – 79 : Underexposed feathers – deviating from your camera’s light meter (March 19, 2012)

  1. STEVE says:

    When your image came into my email (AOL) I would have said it looked a tad OVER exposed. When I looked at it on the worldpress website in Firefox browser with the black surround it looks what I might “guess” as it did to you. The color is strong and vibrant but I stiil think that half a stop less could make it even “punchier”.

    Nothin “wrong” the way it is … it’s a matter of what you, the artist, is looking for!

    Like

    • meelswa says:

      Steve: I have 3 monitors and my iPhone and I choose my photos based on how they look on my calibrated monitor and my iPhone. On one of my monitors this photo looks slightly overexposed. Plus, I liked how it looked on my D5000’s preview monitor. 🙂

      Like

      • Steve (SLHPHOTO1 at Photobucket) says:

        Obviously we can never be “calibrated” to each other. That’s always been the big bug-a-boo about online “proofing” for printers and photographers. So many monitors and technologies! How can you ever match a Pantone color. Not easy! To me the calibration issue is the most annoying part of electronic photography an printing.

        Please don’t be too upset if I ever comment on overall exposure! It may just be my uncalibrated monitor. 🙂

        Like

      • meelswa says:

        Nope, not annoyed with you. Always appreciate your comments 🙂

        Like

The good, the bad, the ugly...I can take it. Talk at me! :)

