365 Project – 74 : Spring surprise (March 14, 2012)

Shutter Speed: 1/1000, Aperture: F/4, ISO: 720

The days are getting longer and despite the chill in the air, evidence of spring is busting through everywhere. I don’t remember planting these flowers but, they’re cropping up just outside our front door. They are my pleasant spring surprise. Beautiful spring flowers showing up without any effort on my part? Now, that’s my type of gardening!! LOL

See more of my 365 Project: Untouched photos from my Nikon D5000 with 50mm lens

5 comments on “365 Project – 74 : Spring surprise (March 14, 2012)

  1. aviatrixkim says:

    Lovely! Love Lenten rose.

    Like

  2. Steve (SLHPHOTO1 at Photobucket) says:

    Very nice! Looks like you hit the DOF just about right. Fortunately the area of interest was pretty shallow.

    I was thinking about your food photos and your 365 Project. Since you’ve decided not to manipulate your images, why not go into the camera “picture settings” and select “vivid” for the food shots? Then the images would still be SOTC and not cheating! You’re just utilizing the cameras internal features.

    Even some nature shots might benefit from the “vivid” treatment. You should try a single subject both ways and see what you like! You might be surprised with what you get.

    Don’t forget to turn off vivid for your people pictures!

    Like

    • meelswa says:

      Steve: Can you explain what you mean by “Fortunately the area of interest was pretty shallow.”? I’d love to learn from that comment.

      Believe it or not, I pretty much ALWAYS have my camera setting on VIVID, even for people. Like that photo of my daughter from yesterday, with the tear on her cheek, that was shot with a VIVID setting. I’m not seeing the problem with using VIVID for people. Would love to hear your take on that. For some reason I seem to get deeper blues and greens using my Sports settings. Sometimes I use that setting just to get a bit more saturation. One of my goals, which I’ve been too lazy to research, is creating custom settings. Maybe that’s how I can get deeper colors SOTC??

      Again, I appreciate your comments. 🙂

      Like

      • Steve (SLHPHOTO1 at Photobucket) says:

        The cameras canned scene modes / settings can sometimes give unexpected results … good and bad. Obviously you are doing well with vivid. In you cam vivid is not “too vivid”, if you know what I mean. Some D Series Nikon a known for higher saturation (D60 in particular).

        The area of interest in the flower, the petal and center stamens are maybe 1 inch deep. Just right for the shallow DOF of your lens at that setting. It presents the flower sharply and nicely blurring the background flower.

        You seem to like shallow depth of field images … as evidenced in your food photos. IMHO That’s fine from the “creative” side but not necessarily as good for trying to “sell” the dish.

        Like

The good, the bad, the ugly...I can take it. Talk at me! :)

