365 Project – 33: Kanoodling cormorants (February 2, 2012)

Shutter Speed: 1/50, Aperture: F16, ISO: 320


The sun was out during my morning Olympic Discovery Trail walk and I obsessed over capturing some sun flare or sun burst in between these two cormorants. I was happy with this photo, straight out of the camera, where the sun seemed to be bursting out of the bottom cormorant’s heart, while the incoming cormorant looks like she (?) is coming in for a kiss. Can’t you see that? It was fun playing with different angles and setting the camera just right to sihlouette the cormorant sculpture and expose properly to get the blue sky and sun burst.

Focus and re-compose
To get this shot, I set my aperture as high as I could (F16), set my shutter speed at 50, then adjusted my ISO to exposure properly for the ground beneath the cormorants. Pointing towards the ground, I pressed my shutter button half-way down, moved the camera up to compose my shot with the sun in between the cormorants, THEN I took the shot. I had to do this a couple of times to get it right. To get sun flare or sun burst, you want to expose for the subject, not for the sun. If you try to focus on your subject while your lens is pointing towards the sun, your exposure will be for the sun, which could just completely wash out your entire photo. There are several tutorials on how to capture sun flare or sun burst. Most that are better at explaining it than I am. It’s a fun technique to play with you so, get out there and shoot into the sun! 🙂

See more of my 365 Project: Untouched photos from my Nikon D5000 with 50mm lens

The good, the bad, the ugly...I can take it. Talk at me! :)

