365 Project – 14: Reflected orchid (January 14, 2012)

Shutter Speed: 1/50, Aperture: F/2, ISO: 200, Manual Focus


My husband moved my birthday orchid in front of our entryway mirror and it caught my eye as a lovely frame within a frame photo. To capture just the orchid, without the reflection of myself, the opposing windows, furniture, toys and mess in the living room, I crouched down on the floor to remove all the distractions. I shot it so the reflected orchids in the mirror were blurry focusing only on the orchid in the top left corner. Orchids are my favorite flower. Normally I like macro shots showing off the details of their delicate orchid tongues. But, I liked this angle too. 🙂

Read more about my 365 Project: Untouched photos from my Nikon D5000 with 50mm lens
The good, the bad, the ugly...I can take it. Talk at me! :)

