365 Project – 8: A little photographic inspiration (January 8, 2012)

Shutter Speed: 1/60, Aperture: F/1.4, ISO: 200


I don’t know about you but, as an amateur photography I can experience “photographer’s block.” At those times one of the best things I can do is be inspired by others’ photos online or in books like the Shutter Sisters’ Expressive Photography.  This book was recommended by Sonja, a photographer and instructor.  She has also been a recent source of inspiration.   Check out her latest blog post…there’s a photo of me! 🙂  And, for sure, first thing in the morning, a cuppa’ joe gets the synapses firing too. 🙂 Notice my composition? Focal point is on the coffee cup, specifically on the word “Hawaii.” There I go dreaming again !  Awwwww….

SETTING UP THIS SHOT: This appears to be a simple shot but, it actually took me a couple tries to get the composition and exposure I wanted.  Initially I shot it on our kitchen nook which has an all black surface. It gave the shot too much of a “studio black” background which I didn’t like. I moved it to our rustic dining table which gave the photo some leading lines and more texture. The lighting wasn’t right so I moved the table close to our north-facing windows. Why didn’t I just adjust my camera settings to get the right exposure? With my 50mm lens, I try to keep my shutter speed at 50 or higher to keep my photos sharp. And, in this particular shot I wanted my aperture at 1.4. At those settings I needed to grab some extra natural light, thus moving closer to the window. I tried the coffee cup on the left and right and for some reason I preferred the focused coffee cup on the left with the blurred book on the right. Maybe because we (Americans) read from left to right? Then, in my first few shots I couldn’t see the coffee in the cup. I kept adding cream until I got the right color. As a bonus, I quickly took the shot and captured a couple air bubbles from just pouring the cream. It’s a simple shot but, was a good exercise in composition and light. 🙂

Read more about my 365 Project: Untouched photos from my Nikon D5000 with 50mm lens
4 comments on “365 Project – 8: A little photographic inspiration (January 8, 2012)

  1. Karla says:

    umm, Meels, I love your Hawaii coffee cup composition shot. Missing Hawaii myself right now too! Just wondering, does this fall under your naked photos project. If so, you may have lost focus a little 🙂

    Like

The good, the bad, the ugly...I can take it. Talk at me! :)

