RECIPE: Kale and Potato Soup with Red Chilies (Greens cookbook)

INGREDIENTS 

1 bunch kale
3 tbsp virgin olive oil
1 medium red or yellow onion, diced into ½ inch squares
6 cloves garlic, peeled and sliced
1 small dried red chili, seeded and chopped, or ½ tsp chili flakes
1 bay leaf
1 tsp salt
4 medium red potatoes (about 1 pound), scrubbed and diced into ½ inch cubes
7 c water or stock
Pepper
2 tsp nutritional yeast (optional) *
2 cans white beans *
Non-fat sour cream (optional)

* MY VARIATIONS: To add extra flavor I added 2-3 teaspoons of Seitenbacher vegetarian broth powder. Add this powder to taste, like you would add salt. Also, to give the soup some “meat” I added the white beans after pureeing the soup with my hand blender. To let the flavors develop I recommend making the soup in the morning or the day before.

Using a sharp knife or kitchen shears cut the ruffled kale leaves off their stems, which are very tough and take a long time to cook. Cut the leaves into pieces roughly 2 inches square, wash them well, and set them aside.

Heat the olive oil in a soup pot, add the onion, garlic, chili, bay leaf, and salt, and cook over medium-high heat for 3 or 4 minutes, stirring frequently. Add the potatoes and the yeast, if using, plus a cup of the water or stock. Stir together, cover, and cook slowly for 5 minutes.

Add the kale, cover, and steam until it is wilted, stirring occasionally. Pour in the rest of the water or stock, bring to a boil, and then simmer slowly, covered, until the potatoes are quite soft, 30 to 40 minutes.

Use the back of a wooden spoon to break up the potatoes by pressing them against the sides of the pot, or puree a cup or two of the soup in a blender and return it to the pot. This will make a unifying background for the other elements.

Taste the soup for salt and add a generous grinding of black pepper. If possible, let the soup sit for an hour or so before serving to allow the flavors to further develop. If desired add a spoonful of non-fat sour cream.

Serves 4 – 6.

FYI – this soup was served as part of a vegetarian dinner with Lindsay Wagner…yup the Bionic Woman! Click here to see the entire menu.

7 comments on “RECIPE: Kale and Potato Soup with Red Chilies (Greens cookbook)

  1. rachsmith says:

    Oh my goodness, what beautiful photography. This is the exact sort of hearty recipe I LOVE…it might just become supper tonight. Thanks for the inspiration!

    Like

  2. What a great recipe and stunning photo too! Just back from a trip to Asturias and this really reminds me of a soup they eat a lot there called Pote Asturiano…delicious 🙂

    Like

  3. meelswa says:

    Thank you! It was hard to make this soup “attractive” since it’s not really colorful. I saturated the red a little bit to bring out the potato skin and red chili flakes. It is really tasty and healthy. I also make my own lentil, kale and sausage soup which I need to photograph and post one of these days. Hmmm…Asturias. I’m pretty good with geography but, I need to look that one up!! Thanks for stopping by!!

    Like

  4. Oh wow! What an amazing photo, this dish look amazing.

    Like

  5. Crissy says:

    Although I would’ve preferred if you went into a little bit more detail, I still got the gist of what you meant. I agree with it. It might not be a popular idea, but it makes sense. Will definitely come back for more of this. Great work

    Like

  6. Cherly Alyea says:

    I actually wanted to construct a brief remark so as to say thanks to you for the stunning items you are placing on this site. My considerable internet search has finally been compensated with reputable facts to share with my guests. I would say that many of us visitors are rather blessed to be in a fine website with so many marvellous individuals with insightful principles. I feel extremely fortunate to have seen your entire website and look forward to really more pleasurable times reading here. Thank you once more for all the details.

    Like

The good, the bad, the ugly...I can take it. Talk at me! :)

