Seattle staycation Part 1: Seattle Children’s Theater, The Maxwell Hotel and Urban Yoga Spa

Small town living in Port Angeles is slow-paced, nature-filled and community-rich, as I like it, but, there are times I crave a city fix.  A friend and I planned a getaway so our daughters could participate in a Seattle Children’s Theater (SCT) drama camp (Theater Arts Splash for 4-7 year olds), giving us a 3 hr. kid-free break for 5 days.  And, a lot of time for all of us girls to enjoy the emerald city together. Definitely a win-win for the kids and mamas!

We tried a new boutique hotel, The Maxwell Hotel , in lower Queen Anne, just a few blocks away from Seattle Center.  The location was ultra-convenient allowing us to get to the SCT and downtown easily on foot.   The hotel was clean, close to Metropolitan Market, and restaurants.  The pool was small but, enough to make the kids happy.   I did ask them to turn the heat up a bit in the pool and they did.  No hot tub.  There was a small but, sufficient gym with basic machines and a TV. They provided complimentary bottled water in our rooms daily along with coffee and tasty mini pineapple cupcakes in the lobby every evening.  Free wi-fi too.  For our weekly stay we took advantage of their every 3rd night free offer.  They are a new hotel and they seem to be working hard to provide excellent customer service.  We were happy with our week stay and in fact have already booked it for another getaway later in the year.

I can never say enough about the hot yoga classes at Urban Yoga Spa which was where I spent my time sweating and breathing through asanas while the kiddos were in camp.  We had just enough time to drop them off at SCT, hop on the monorail and get to UYS just in time for the 10am class.   It was such an energizing way for me to start each day.   It’s said that you appreciate what you don’t have.  We don’t have hot yoga in Port Angeles…yet?   I keep hoping.  So, whenever I’m in Seattle I try to make it to UYS.  Right now they are offering an unbelievable offer for new guests.  $25 for unlimited classes for the week.  In 7 days I took 8 classes…all for $25.  I definitely got my money’s worth.  But, mostly, my body, mind and soul received the benefit of wonderful yoga classes.  For that I am so grateful.

And, about the drama camp?  Our kids loved it.  Each day they did drama, creative movement and art.  On the last day they put on a delightful 45 minute performance.  I would definitely sign my daughter up again next year.

Stay tuned for more of our Seattle staycation highlights:  kid-friendly eats, fun sushi, tasty gelato, mouth-watering sea bass, and luscious red velvet cupcakes;  favorite parks; sporting events and my review of the Silver Cloud Hotel at the Stadium.

2 comments on “Seattle staycation Part 1: Seattle Children’s Theater, The Maxwell Hotel and Urban Yoga Spa

  1. Thad Ferre says:

    The photos are great Meels! Nice post!

    Like

The good, the bad, the ugly...I can take it. Talk at me! :)

