Quiche – my easy, fail-safe recipe

I’ve been making this quiche for almost 10 years and this recipe has never let me down. I adapted it from a Betty Crocker recipe, made some substitutions and added one important step which I think “makes” the recipe. The recipe has been lightened up to cut down the fat a “wee” bit and modified for convenience.

Serves 8 (makes 2 quiches – 4 slices each)

Ingredients:

* 4 eggs
* 2 cups half-n-half
* 1/2 shredded cheese (gruyere; jack or cheddar okay too)
* 4 chicken apple sausage links – cut in large chunks
* 1/2 large sweet onion – cut in large chunks
* 1/4 tsp salt
* 1/2 tsp white pepper
* 1/2 tsp minced fresh thyme
* 2 – 9″ whole wheat crusts (keep these crusts frozen until you are ready to fill them)

Directions:
Preheat oven to 425
Pour half-n-half in a mixing bowl, add the 4 eggs, salt, pepper and thyme; whisk until well blended, set aside. Place the sausage chunks in a food processor and pulse until finely minced. Remove sausage then add onion chunks and pulse until finely minced and almost pureed (just until you see onion juices.) Place the pie crusts on a baking sheet. Layer the sausage, onions then cheese in each pie crust; dividing the ingredients evenly. Lightly whisk the egg mixture then evenly pour the liquid into each pie crust. Gently spread the filling to the sides to remove any uneven bumps.

Place your cookie sheet on a center rack. Cook for 15 minutes. Reduce heat to 300 and bake another 30 minutes or until top is browned and a knife edge comes out clean. Let sit for 10 minutes. Serve immediately or at room temperature. Garnish with a green salad or try it with a cooked vegetable like this sauteed broccolini (gai lan).  Bon Appetit!

make sure the quiche filling is distributed evenly before baking

RECIPE NOTES:

* The original recipe called for whipping cream, which for me was too heavy. Half-n-half is just right for me. You can use whole milk but, the quiche starts losing its “body” and this is already what I consider a lower fat quiche recipe.

Maple Lane Bakery Vegan Whole Wheat Crusts

* I tend to keep most of these ingredients on hand including these freezer staples: Aidell’s chicken apple sausage and the Maple Lane Bakery whole wheat pie crusts (I can’t find a link for this product but, I get it from our local Sunny Farms Country Store in Sequim, WA.) The sausage was a substitute for bacon…definitely less fattening without sacrificing a lot of flavor. This crust is also less buttery whittling away even more fat calories.

I LOVE my Cuisinart!

* My “secret” step is using a food processor. I think the flavors of the sausage and the onion “juice” get infused throughout the quiche because of the extra-fine mincing I get from my food processor. And, it’s fast!

Fresh thyme - aromatic, easy to grow, goes great with eggs!

* Fresh thyme is also a staple since it grows in my herb garden. I think thyme with eggs is a natural pairing and fresh is so much better than dried. Common Thyme grows like a weed. I encourage you to buy a plant, keep one by your sink or start a simple herb garden outside. You won’t regret it.

3 comments on “Quiche – my easy, fail-safe recipe

  1. Recipe Chefs says:

    Excellent recipe. Thanks for sharing this post. I really enjoy reading your blog. Feel free to check out our recipes.

    Recipe Chefs –

    http://recipechefs.wordpress.com

    Like

  2. Kristin Renzema says:

    Hi Amelia, your quiche looks great I will have to try it. I have sent you a couple e-mails in the last two days, did you receive them? Sorry to use the comments on your blog to ask this but my e-mail has been messed up and wasn’t sure if they went through.

    Love your sun kissed pictures too!
    Kristin

    Like

  3. meelswa says:

    Kristin: Thanks for your comment…and I emailed you! 🙂

    Like

The good, the bad, the ugly...I can take it. Talk at me! :)

