Part 1: My Nikon D5000 – laughing Paco and smiling Nora

Laughing Paco (April 17, 2010)

Last week I splurged on a Nikon D5000 and I’m still trying to justify the cost by proving that I can take better photos with the Nikon than with my old Olympus. I’m not convinced yet but, I’m still trying to get the hang of my new toy. While experimenting with my new Nikon D5000 I captured this photo of Paco, which I love. He looks like he’s laughing.

And, here are my thoughts about my new camera so far:

  • Comparing photos taken with D5000’s kit lenses with the photos taken by my old Olympus with my prime lens is not a fair comparison.
  • My Olympus actually has served me well
  • I had an expectation that right out of the box, using the D5000 with its automatic settings, it would magically produce MUCH better photos than my old camera. The D5000 did not meet that expectation and I’m wondering if ANY camera could really do that anyway.
  • As my friend Kristen reminded me “you wanted a camera you could grow into…” I’m frustrated by all the features…I just don’t know HOW to use this more sophisticated camera yet. The D5000 is forcing me to learn more about basic and advanced photography skills, which, yes Kristen, is one of the main reasons I was shopping for a new camera in the first place!

Getting more convinced that the Nikon D5000 is a great camera for me…

And, here’s another photo I took this afternoon, which thrills me because of the sharpness I got out of the camera. This was using the 55-200mm lens.  Feeling better about splurging on the D5000!

Part 2: Getting to know my Nikon D5000

April 18, 2010 Nora

2 comments on “Part 1: My Nikon D5000 – laughing Paco and smiling Nora

  1. KJ says:

    So, what’s the verdict? Keeper?

    Like

  2. meelswa says:

    Yup, it’s a keeper!! I still think I NEED (LOL) another lens or two, but, I’m happy with the photos I’m getting. It was just me being frustrated with all the “bells and whistles” and just not knowing how to use them!

    Like

The good, the bad, the ugly...I can take it. Talk at me! :)

